Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 3 of 3

Dora and Cara Armistead Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2004.24, 2006.54
Scope and Contents Papers from the household of Dora Travis Armistead (1890-1979) and Rowland Cara Armistead, sisters of Williamsburg, Virginia. Includes letters, personal, financial and business papers of Cary Peyton Armistead (1856-1901), father of Dora and Cara, Steward of Eastern Lunatic Asylum (now Eastern State Hospital), and prominent local Episcopal Church and school leader; Eudora Ester Armistead (d. 1940), mother; Cary Champion Armistead (d. 1944), brother, and lawyer for a time in Detroit, Michigan;...
Dates: 1880-1950
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Carlton Casey Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1999.48
Scope and Contents

The inventory is a guide to Mss. Acc. 1999.48 which is the postcard collection documenting pre-restoration Williamsburg, restored Williamsburg, Jamestown, the College of William and Mary, the University of Virginia, and cities, towns, and holidays in Virginia. Also includes clippings, articles, photographs, programs, and souvenir publications.

Additions to the collection are described individually.

Dates: 1894-1999
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Janet C. Kimbrough Williamsburg Area History Collection

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1985.50, 1991.36 and 1993.06
Scope and Contents

Collection of material about Williamsburg, Virginia area history including Colonial Williamsburg Foundaton, Williamsburg Public Library, "Model" school of Williamsburg, Yorktown Bicentennial, Bundles for Britain and more.  Includes photographs of family and friends, many set in Williamsburg, and photograph of dedication of the Confederate Monument on the Palace Green.

Dates: 1873-1994
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Subject: Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century X
  • Subject: Confederate Memorial (Williamsburg, Va.) X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 2
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation--History 2
Programs 2
Certificates 1
Clippings (information artifacts) 1
∨ more
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--20th century 1
Financial records 1
James City County (Va.)--Tercentenary 1
Jamestown (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Lawyers--Virginia--Correspondence 1
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Obituaries 1
Pamphlets 1
Postcards 1
Postcards--Virginia 1
Printed ephemera 1
Publications 1
Reports 1
Schools--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Scrapbooks 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--Colonial Period--History 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--World War, 1939-1945 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--Library 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 1
Women--Education--Virginia 1
York County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Yorktown (Va.)--History--Siege, 1781--Centennial celebrations, etc 1
+ ∧ less
 
Names
The Model School (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Armistead Family 1
Armistead, Cary Champion, d. 1944 1
Armistead, Dora Travis, 1890-1979 1
∨ more
Armistead, Rowland Cara 1
Blackstone Female Institute (Va.) 1
Bright, Robert Southall, 1872-1947 1
Bundles for Britain, Inc 1
Casey, Carlton 1
Charles, John S., 1851-1930 1
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 1
College of William and Mary. School of Education 1
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert, 1810-1894 1
Kimbrough, Janet C. (Janet Coleman) 1
Literary Societies--Philomathean Literary Society 1
Marshall, John, Pageant (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Nicholson High School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Pulaski Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 1
University of Virginia 1
+ ∧ less